Oil Tank Silhouette

“Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop” – Ansel Adams

I took this photo at sunset yesterday.  I think I have started the year off well and I can see this as being one of my favorite photos of the year.  It is hard to make the oil field look pretty but I believe that I have accomplished my goal with this photo.  It is amazing how the camera can see something so much differently then we can.  After taking photos for a while you start seeing the world as photographic opportunities like this one.  This scene didn’t look like this at all because the human eye can see more stops of light then the camera.  The camera can’t take in the bright and dark parts of the image so it results in a silhouette when I metered for the sky, ultimately creating this beautiful scene.

In photoshop I made this picture more orange then what came straight out of the camera by adjusting the white balance.  This leads to my first tip in photography.  For those that don’t shoot in RAW format with their cameras they should be for this precise reason.  You can change the white balance in photoshop after the fact instead of shooting in JPEG format and being stuck with what you chose at the moment.  This saves a lot of time in the field when you are trying to get photos before the lighting changes such as in this picture.

I will finish this post off with some things that I have been reading lately about oil.

“An average barrel of crude (which is 42 gallons) yields about 20 gallons of gasoline.  When you refine the barrel you get different “cuts” ranging from light products like butane to heavy products like asphalt” (Power Hungry by Robert Bryce, page 185).

It is funny that people think that the only thing we use oil for is our cars when there are so many more things we use it for.  This is one reason why ethanol will not work to replace oil and lead us to using less of it.  Ethanol just can’t replace oil for things like asphalt, diesel and jet fuel which have been seeing recent increases in demand, unlike the demand for gasoline which has not risen much.  I highly recommend Robert Bryce’s book to anyone that is interested in learning more about “evil oil.”

Please leave a comment and tell me what you think about this photo.  If you have any interesting oil related photos please do not hesitate to share them with me.

About Elegant Delight Photography

My name is CJ Pietri and I am from Colorado. I have started this blog so that anyone that is interested in my photography can follow me here. I will post some of my favorite pictures with some commentary about them or about how I took them to give people a little insight about each photo. I will also post other photography (maybe getting off topic sometimes) related posts and tips to try and help other people who are trying to take better pictures as well. I realize I am not a professional photographer but I think that I can help other photographers with tips and tricks that I pick up by reading and just practicing this art on a daily basis. I have been interested in photography since high school when I started with a film SLR, but didn't really get into until a couple of years ago when I bought my first DSLR. I am trying to get better at taking meaningful pictures everyday, which has proven to be a long journey, but I believe I am growing on a daily basis. If you enjoy any of the pictures please do not hesitate to comment. You can see all of my favorite work at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/squeege40/
This entry was posted in Oil and gas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

